Long weekend in Athens

Discovering Acropolis, in Athens, Greece

My first visit to Acropolis

Greek Flag on top of AcropolisAthens has been in my travel list for long. As long as I can remember, I wanted to visit Acropolis, the home for the Goddess of Greek mythology, and last May I finally got there. I was invited in my friends’ wedding in Athens, which was a perfect reason to extend my stay for a couple of days to discover this city with over 7000 years of history.

The wedding was in Sunday, so I had a full Saturday to explore the city and Acropolis, my main destination. It was a bit of climbing to get on top of Acropolis, but as I am used to Swiss mountains this little hill was an easy task despite the warm spring weather. The ruins were very impressive, though somewhat smaller than I would have thought based on what I was told in my history class.

Acropolis, Athens

Acropolis

The old temple of Parthenon, dedicated to the Greek goddess Athena was clearly the most stunning building on the hill. It was built over 2000 years ago, when the Athenian Empire was at the height of its power. Since then it has maybe lost a bit of its shape, but not at all its character. It is still the most amazing building in Athens and definitively worth visiting!

Visiting Acropolis, Greece

Little details

More ruins in acropolis

Acropolis

Acropolis

The view from the top of Acropolis
This is the view from the Top!

Acropolis Museum - the modern gateway to history of Athens
The Acropolis Museum – This is the place to visit if you would like to refresh your memory on Greek mythology and history before climbing to Acropolis or on your way back…

8 thoughts on “Long weekend in Athens

  1. Thank you for your comments! And thank you so much for Meg for the nomination! I really like your blog too. It is great, and so is the blog list.

  2. Thank you, Minna. I always look forward to your beautiful posts. And I appreciate that you have commented on my blog right from the beginning… 🙂

  3. Pingback: Travel year 2011: My top 10 destinations | travel+style

Leave a Reply

